Goodbye Jamaica

I must admit that I had my reservations about Jamaica. Despite being one of the most popular islands for visitors in the Caribbean, a quick search online told me that tourism in Jamaica has developed substantially since the glitterati jetted to the island in the 1950s. These days, all-inclusive resorts have become one of the major ways to visit. As you know, big all-inclusive resorts are not really my thing. So when we first arrived at the Riu Montego Bay with it’s 843 rooms, I was appalled at the factory feeling that I got. Too many people, the music was too loud, the weed smell was overwhelming and it was more of a party vibe.

Luckily we talked to Luis Suarez Ramirez, the Assistant General Manager at Riu. He did everything in his power to make our stay better and I must say that he was successful. Luis is only 24 years old, but with his experience and his vision, I’m sure that he has a fantastic career ahead. I always say, it is the people who make the hotel a place where you want to stay, at RIU the staff was ever so helpful, friendly and always with a smile. They genuinely care to make you happy and reply with their ‘Ya man’. Christina was one of the best yoga teachers I have encountered. With her soothing voice, she should really do a Podcast. The party’s and shows at the hotel, although more for young people, were phenomenal.

Back in my hotel suite, on my cell phone I find the notification to check-in for my return flight home. This is one notification I wouldn’t mind missing. So, all in all, this holiday served its purpose. I went to Jamaica to wash away the winter’s chill, to put me in a better frame of mind and to chillax on this beautiful Caribbean island. It’s hard not to grow fond of Jamaica while exploring the Island of “One Love.” It is a tiny island with a big heart.

As my airplane departs Jamaica, I feel renewed – both body and soul. I don’t even mind that I have my winter jacket tucked under my arm. And…as Bob Marley said: “Love the life you live and live the life you love’….

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Jamaica

Leave a comment