Day 4: Fatehpur Sikri and Jungle villas

This morning we left at 8 am for a long bus drive – 320 Indian kilometers (whatever that means – up &down or from left to right :)). From Agra to the Ranthambore National Park. Driving through small villages and Indian farms, stopping from time to time for a cow, a goat or a pig on the road…(or for a supermarket- not easy to find here). Our first visit was Fatehpur Sikri, the old Moghul capital, built by Akbar for his son. Because of lack of water, the capital moved after 14 years. The walled city is a beautiful example of Moghul architecture. We visited the Jama Mashid mosque 🕌. Little kids came running up to us to sell their junk. I gave one cute little girl my magic pen (the one that has 4 colors), only on 1 condition – I told her to go to school (school is free here in India- even the uniform and the books) She promised me that she would go to school – but she was more interested in chewing gum and lipstick 😰…


We had a fantastic lunch in a beautiful garden route hotel for only 9 euro. Just in time for ‘high tea’ we arrived at the luxurious ‘Jungle Villas Hotel ‘  in Ranthambore National Park. I spoke with a Hawaiian girl, who traveled with a US-Canadian group and they did not see a tiger, on their safaritour, but they did encounter a bear 😱👍. I’m very excited, since I absolutely love safaris. But we do have to get up at 5am and it takes 20 minutes before the shower gets warm 😲An inside joke for my son Max: I did turn the lights off in the bathroom this time (remember Kruger-our snake encounter 😬!)

 

Leave a comment