Bondi beach and shopping

Today we took the bus to Bondi beach. It was 22 degrees and the water looked so refreshing. I decided to take a swim. My travelbuddy was afraid of sharks, so he went hiking instead. The water was refreshing and the waves thunderous… I was enjoying the sun on my skin, when my eye caught a sign ‘ Royal rehab return 2 sport’ Young surfers were helping disabled people in wheelchairs to get  in the ocean and took them around on a surfboard. There was an asian girl in a wheelchair and a surferboy swam with her on a surfboard for at least half an hour. The sight of those young people helping so many disabled people and seeing the joy on those people’s faces was just heartwarming. Please take a look at their site ‘ http://www.royalrehab.com.au’ . They also help disabled with tennis, golf and wintersports. A great project that Belgium should copy.

We decided to skip the surflesson and sat down in one of the funky cafes that had plants in nutella jars.

On the busride back to the center, we stopped at Hyde park and visited the beautiful cathedral and enjoyed the view.

And then ….shopping for 2 hours. Queen Victoria building, fantastic! Wim introduced me to this Japanese store that I did not know: ‘Uniqlo’, they also have one in Antwerp, but I have never been there. I loved it!

Tomorrow we are heading to Christchurch, New Zealand.

Leave a comment